Governing Body

All maintained schools in England have a Governing Body which is responsible for overseeing many of the strategic decisions of the school. A key role is to act as a ‘critical friend’: to support, to challenge, and to ask questions.

Bell Lane’s Governing Body is rightly proud of the achievements of the school.  However, it’s drive is clear: for the school to become increasingly outstanding in more and more areas of its work, giving local children the best possible start in life.

The Governing Body works in close partnership with the Head teacher, staff and the Local Authority.  Whilst the Head teacher is, of course, responsible for the day to day running of the school, the governors are involved with such things as staffing, curriculum, school buildings and finance.  It ensures the school functions well and maintains the proper range of academic and social objectives.

Membership of the Governing Body includes parents, teaching staff and representatives from the local community and the Local Authority.  

The Governing Body has a range of powers and duties laid down by various Education Acts.  In the main, these responsibilities relate to:

  • Setting targets and promoting high standards of educational achievement
  • Setting the strategic framework within which the school operates
  • Management of the school’s budget
  • Ensuring that the curriculum for the school is broad and balanced

Governors adopt, review and monitor a range of policies that govern the operation of the school including Health and Safety, Behaviour, Curriculum and Performance Management.

Governors discharge the above responsibilities, together with many others, through a Governing Body meeting each term.  These formal meetings are supplemented by a series of committee-meetings dealing with more specific issues.  Two committees of governors usually meet twice each term:

  • Curriculum & Standards Committee
  • Finance & Premises Committee (focusing on staffing, premises and finance).

A number of governors also have responsibilities for specific areas within the school.  The Terms of Reference outline the specific responsibilities of the full governing body and its committees.

Skills required of school governors

The National Governance Association (NGA) has published a list of skills required for school governance.  An individual governor  is not expected to have all the skills listed in the audit, but they should be covered across the governing body.

All Governing Bodies of community schools can agree on a model for the size and membership of their Governing Body based on what best suits the circumstances of that school.  The size of the Governing Body can range from a minimum of 8 to 16 maximum number.

The Governing Body of Bell Lane Primary School has the following members:

1 Chair of Governors

  • Tracy Simmons (Co-opted)

2 Parent Governors

Parents (including guardians/carers) of registered pupils at the school are eligible to stand for election for parent governorship at the school. Parent Governors are elected by other parents at the school.

  • Mrs Katalin Kurtosi

1 Vacancy

1 Staff Governor

Both teaching and support staff paid to work in the school are eligible for staff governorship. One Staff Governor is elected by the school staff and must be paid to work at the school; volunteers are not eligible.

1 Vacancy

The Head teacher is a member of the Governing Body by virtue of his position.

  • Miss Harsha Patel 

1 Local Authority (LA) Governor

The LA Governor is nominated by the Local Authority (LA). The Governing Body may agree to appoint (or not) the LA nominee, and can also submit eligibility criteria by which a nominee should be selected.

  • Mrs Kate Elliot

10 Co-opted Governors

Co-opted Governors are appointed by the Governing Body often to meet the need for a specific set of skills, knowledge or experience.  Co-opted Governors can be people who live or work in the community served by the school, or people who do not work or live close to the school, but are committed to the good governance and success of the school.

  • Mr Roger Coral (Vice Chair)
  • Mrs Katie Hart 
  • Mr Ross McGill 
  • Mr Charles Adewuyi 
  • Mr Olusegun Akunde 

Associate Governors

  • Tia Harrison 
  • Mrs Bow Faulkner-Vara
  • Mr Ivor Tucker
  • Mrs Terri Patterson


  • Brenda Evelyn 
  • Mr Olusegun Akande  
  • Brenda Evelyn (Clerk) 
  • Miss Tiah Harrison  
  • Mrs Katie Hart (Chair) 
  • Katalin Kurtosi  
  • Mr Ross McGill  
  • Miss Harsha Patel  
  • Tracy Simmons 
  • Mr Charles Adewuyi (Chair) 
  • Mr Roger Coral  
  • Brenda Evelyn (Clerk) 
  • Mrs Bow Faulkner-Vara  
  • Miss Harsha Patel  
  • Ms Terri Patterson  
  • Tracy Simmons  
  • Mr Ivor Tucker